National Thermal Power Corporation(NTPC) has two major Power units in Orissa and both of these are situated in the district of Angul at Kaniha & Talcher. Kaniha & Talcher Thermal are about 60 KMs & 15 Kms from Angul respectively.


                                        NTPC, Kaniha                              Talcher Thermal


 Approved Capacity 3000 MW (6x500 MW)
Installed Capacity Stage I : 1000 MW
Stage II : 2000 MW
Current installed capacity : 1500 MW
Location Angul, Orissa
Coal Source Talcher Coal Field (Lingaraj Area)
Water Source Samal Barrage Reservoir
Beneficiary States Orissa, Bihar, Sikkim, Damodar
Valley Corporation, West Bengal, Jharkhand, Southern States
Approved Investment Rs.9241.01 Crore
Unit Sizes 6X500 MW
Units Commissioned Stage I Unit -I: 500 MW February 1995
Unit -II 500 MW March 1996
Units Commissioning Schedule Stage II Unit -III: 500 MW February, 2003
Unit -IV: 500 MW August 2004

Unit -V: 500 MW May 2005
Unit -VI: 500 MW February 2006
International Assistance IBRD
French loan



Approved Capacity 460 MW
Installed Capacity 460 MW
Location Angul, Orissa


Coal Source Talcher Coal Fields
Water Source Brahmini River
Beneficiary States Orissa
Approved Investment Rs.356 Crore (Estimated cost of
transfer from OSEB to NTPC)
Unit Sizes 4x60 MW
2x110 MW
Taken over from Orissa state
Electricity Board against GOI
notification dt. 3.6.95



For more details please connect : or